Rambling (probably shouldn’t post this)

Tuesday, April 5th, 2011

So I didn’t post yesterday because well…okay let me start from the beginning.  I a “stop BS-ing” alarm I like to set on goal oriented days.  Sometimes it works and sometimes doing nothing holds the right amount of nihilistic seduction.

It’s not that I get anything done during these “nothing” times.  It’s not even that I don’t regret it.  I just don’t really enjoy the beginnings of things (opposite of Don Draper).  Once I’m knuckle deep in typing something or researching something or whatever, I’m perfectly content to work through it.  It’s a problem.  I know this.  I hope to fix it.

End of Confession:

ANYWAY (this device was lifted from old Chuck Klosterman…he doesn’t use it anymore, so I will for awhile) I wanted to type about poetry.  I love it.  I used to enjoy writing it in high school, but it was atrocious.  It was emo before emo was emo.

Growing up has a way of teaching most people that it’s dumb to take yourself too seriously.  Now, I write poetry for a creative writing class and it’s always fun.  Also, I’m pretty good at it.  My problem is (and yes I’m whining) I’ve only ever written poetry when forced to.  I enjoy writing and want to continue it after I’ve earned my degree, so I think I have to trick myself into making writing a habit.

Quick Tangent: When I was deployed to the desert, I read all the time.  It was great.  There was no constant access to the world wide web and it was very easy to get lost in a book without the constant distraction of abundant information.

Sometimes, I’m tempted to throw my laptop on the ground and stomp on it until I’m forced to into some state of technological regression.  I don’t hate technology.  I do recognize that I use it to fill in the boring (perceived or otherwise) gaps in my life.  If I spent less time incessantly checking ESPN.com, I could probably be a more productive writer and reader.

For now, I will stick with you dear blog, dear reader of zero.  I want to start putting poetry here and have a pretty decent backlog of short stories and such, along with ideas that I could develop on here. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

